My Choice of Text Editor for html

by bryanwoodsmall

I am using a Macbook Pro.  I decided to use Sublime Text 2 for the time being.  It is not free, but has a free evaluation period.  If I think it is worth it I will buy it.

I thought Text Wrangler was good as a free option.  Sublime Text has some neat things like popping up choices when it can tell you are typing in a tag (such as <body>).  Then when you choose which one you want, it enters it and the corresponding end tag (such as </body>).  To get that behavior you have to tell it (in the view menu) that you are typing html.  It also color codes the text according to how it is parsing what you are typing.  If you make a mistake like leaving off a < or something, it won’t be able to figure out what you are doing, and the colors won’t be right, which gives you a clue that something is wrong.  You can also tell it that you are typing JavaScript, and it will have similar help for you.  As far as I can tell, Text Wrangler does not have much (if any) of that kind of stuff.  If you found neat features like that in Text Wrangler, feel free to leave me a short comment.

Sublime Text 2 also has a bunch of nifty shortcuts that they show you in a demo on their website.  Looks like you have to take some time to learn how to use them, and I didn’t try any of that.

