Going Live with my First Web Page

by bryanwoodsmall

Okay, not a useful page, but there is now something at makefriendswithalgebra.com

This has been fun and I have learned a lot so far.  I already knew a little about HTML and the whole process, but I was fuzzy on the details.

The html exercise was very useful. Memorizing the code really forced me to get a better understanding of the structure of a basic web page.  I had seen it before, but know it better now.

Choosing a text editor was also a useful exercise.  Left to my own devices, I probably would have just downloaded the first free one I found.  By going through the drill, I learned more about features that are available, and made a better choice.

The “HTML is All Around You” exercise helped me learn more about some of the structures, which gave me a start at getting good at HTML.

Choosing a domain name helped me focus on what I wanted my website to be.  Although I’m not sure it is the best name, I think it is a good one to start with.  I already have several ideas for the site, which the domain name has helped to bring into focus.  This was also a big motivating step.

In getting a webspace up and running on a hosting service, I learned a lot of the details involved in making it all work.  I had some acquaintance with it already, but much more capable now.

I am looking forward to getting into all the details of html, css, and javascript.  I have been studying javascript for awhile.  I have a lot of ideas for the website, and am eager to get started.

 

